Happy Thanksgiving!

Dear Fellow Dominican Yorks:

I want to take this opportunity to wish you a bountiful Thanksgiving. May your holiday be full of joy in the company of all your loved ones. To my confused Islander brethren: please be aware that Thanksgiving is indeed an American holiday (see history here). We don’t mind that you celebrate, but don’t claim “nacionalismo dominicano” while you are wishing all on the Island Feliz Día de Acción de Gracias. Just let us know if you will be celebrating the 4th of July with us as well.  On that note here are the things I am thankful for:

I am thankful for my Dominican York girlfriends. This blog is their seed planted in my little head about fifteen years ago, when we moved back from the Island and started sharing our anecdotes about our adventures in La Isla.

I am thankful for my Dominican York family. Hardworking and resilient, they represent the true American dream of perseverance and tenacity.

I am thankful for my New York crew. They are my safety net, and no matter what decisions I make, I can always count on their 100% judgement-free support.

I am thankful for Islanders, for they are the annoying relative that I just can’t deny.

Cheers!

One response to “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too…I couldn’t celebrate it properly, but today I made un moro de guandules platano maduro frito y pollo asado that was finger licking good…pics on my facebook…

Leave a Reply

